Enter your keyword

ADMISSION HELPLINE – +91 9621030000 , 8795111171


President of India

President of India

On Monday 17th July, 2017 presidential election was held in India the votes were counted and the results were announced on 20th July 2017

Mr. Pranab Kumar Mukherjee served as the 13th President of India from 2012 to 2017. Mukherjee occupied several ministerial portfolios in the Government of India. He was a senior leader of the Indian National Congress .and he was Union Finance Minister from 2009 to 2012 before his election as President. Mukherjee was sworn-in by the Chief Justice of India on 25th July 2012, becoming the first Bengali to hold the post of President of India. Earlier in 2008 he was also Honoured with the Padma Vibhushan, the second highest civilian award of India.

Mr.Ram Nath Kovind won the presidential election after securing over two-thirds of the total Electoral College votes. Mr Kovind was sworn-in as the 14th President of India on 25th July, 2017. He was the 35th Governor of Bihar and went up against opposition candidate Meira Kumar of the Indian National Congress in the vote. Ram Nath Kovind received 65.6% of the valid votes, against Meira Kumar the presidential candidate of the Opposition who received 34.35% of the total votes.

Meira Kumar was elected unopposed as the first woman Speaker of Lok Sabha and served from 2009 to 2014. She made a record for obtaining the most number of votes ever by a losing candidate i.e. 3, 67,314 Electoral votes. She served as a Cabinet Minister in the Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment of Manmohan Singh’s Congress led Government (2004–2009).
On 25th July, 2017 Mr. Ram Nath Kovind took Presidential Oath in the Central hall of parliament. Chief Justice of India Justice JS Khehar administered the oath of office to Kovind. To Honour the new President of India A 21-gun salute was also fired. In his first address after swearing-in, Kovind said he is proud to follow the footsteps of former eminent Presidents like Dr. Rajendra Prasad, Dr. S Radhakrishnan and Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam.

Congratulating Mr. Ram nath Kovind, Sri Sharda Group of Institutions hope to see India on a path where growth evolves. 

No Comments

Add your review

Your email address will not be published.

Download Brochure
Admission Enquiry